Friday, April 24, 2009

More History - A New Era in Woodburning Began

It was in the late 1980’s, that the U.S. EPA began to set standards for stove manufactures to follow and a whole new era in wood burning began.

By the end of the decade, magazines were full of positive articles on the catalytic combustor.

There were nearly 80 wood stove manufacturers already certified to the EPA's Phase I program when it began.
60% of them had certified with catalytic wood burning appliances.
Even the EPA went on record, stating that catalytics represent the “best demonstrated technology” the industry had at the time.
After June 30, 1990 stove manufacturers could no longer build Phase I stoves and had to comply with the U.S. EPA's Phase II certification program.
Some Phase II catalytic stoves built today, even those with 4 cu. ft fireboxes, are far below the 4.1 g/ph emission limit.
The Phase II certification program is still in effect today.
That is not to say, this won't change in the near future.

No comments: